Monologue about religion

– [myself] May I ask if you believe in God?

– [unaware wiseman] I don’t believe in God but I’m very interested in her.

– [myself] My limited mind and faith knows that “God made man in His own image”, why “her”?

– [unaware wiseman] The rash assertion that ‘God made man in His own image’ is ticking like a time bomb at the foundation of many faiths, and as the hierarchy of the universe is disclosed to us, we may have to recognize this chilling truth: if there are any gods whose chief concern is man, they cannot be very important gods.

– [myself] I’ll try to understand (hopefully in this life). But coming back to my question: why don’t you believe and are interested in?

– [unaware wiseman] The hypothesis you refer to as God, though not disprovable by logic alone, is unnecessary for the following reason. If you assume that the universe can be quote explained unquote as the creation of an entity known as God, he must obviously be of a higher degree of organization than his product. Thus you have more than doubled the size of the original problem, and have taken the first step on a diverging infinite regress. William of Ockham pointed out as recently as your fourteenth century that entities should not be multiplied unnecessarily. I cannot therefore understand why this debate continues.

– [myself] And how would you explain our existence? I would assume you are a strong supporter of evolutionism. Can the evolutionism can be another clue of God existence?

– [unaware wiseman] I have encountered a few “creationists” and because they were usually nice, intelligent people, I have been unable to decide whether they were really mad, or only pretending to be mad. If I was a religious person, I would consider creationism nothing less than blasphemy. Do its adherents imagine that God is a cosmic hoaxer who has created the whole vast fossil record for the sole purpose of misleading humankind? And, although I do not necessarily agree with the paleontologist Teilhard de Chardin’s advocacy of evolution as a major proof of the glory of God, de Chardin’s attitude is both logical and inspiring. A creator who laid the foundations for the entire future at the beginning of time is far more awesome than a clumsy tinkerer who constantly modifies his creations and throws away entire species in the process.

[myself]: Impressed. Wordless.

My absolutely useless and arbitrary divagation about religion while trying to build up a my opinion (again…) understanding the point of view of unaware wiseman, by adapting their quotes to my silly and basic questions.

WU

PS. A special thank to Sir. A. C. Clarke (and wiki here) for his “participation”.

Rispondi

